Giving Thanks

What do those words mean to you? And why do we only set aside one day out of the year to do this? 

I, for one, absolutely love this Thanksgiving holiday. I love it for two reasons. One, the obvious, the FOOD! And two, because we give thanks. It makes us stop and think about all we have and all we are so grateful for. What better feeling is there to plant within our hearts and minds but the feeling of thankfulness! 

So why is it we only have one day on our calendars that we set aside to do this?

Why aren’t we doing this like monthly, no weekly, better yet, daily? And I don’t mean in-our-prayers-at-night type of thing. I mean giving thanks to all around us! 

Thank nature for its inspiration! Thank the sky for its infinite beauty! Thank the air for its grace of breath! Thank our husbands, wives, children, parents, friends, coworkers, and yes even those we tend to disagree with! For without all of these we would not have companionship, love, life, encouragement, and others points of view. 

Starting tomorrow, I plan to express my gratitude daily. My first thoughts as I awake will be to verbally say, “Thank you” as soon as my eyes open every morning. To say it at least three times before my first cup of coffee for the day. I believe by starting off with such gratitude, it can only carry on into my day. 

So as this Thanksgiving day passes me by, I want to make sure to say how much I am ever so grateful to all of you. My family, my friends, my co-workers, and those of you that have just casually come across my blog to read. From the bottom of my heart, I thank you for being here today.

One thought on “Giving Thanks

  1. What a great piece to read this morning, Lisa. What a great idea to be thankful every day. I practice positivity every morning and will have to add thankfulness every morning rather than once in awhile. Thanks for your great writing and most of all for your friendship. Have a great weekend!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment