My Mind Wanders

wp-1468514073359.jpegI can not sleep so I come here to think.
Such a peaceful place full of calm and quiet.
I can not sleep for my mind won’t allow it.
So here I’ll sit and let it open to all wonders.

I can not sleep or am I just afraid to?
For if I do, all of the tomorrow’s will come.
I can not sleep because I want time to freeze.
I want time to freeze at this very moment.

I can not sleep because I’m not ready.
I’m not ready to say anymore good byes.
I can not sleep knowing life changes.
I’m not sure I can handle any more of them.

I can not sleep just thinking about it.
Good bye old job, good bye childhood home.
I can not sleep thinking of the good byes.
Especially the one nearing me very soon.

I can not sleep cause I think of a friend.
I pray and I pray give her strength and health.
I can not sleep so I pray and I pray.
I pray for all of these things today.

I can not sleep so I come to this place.
It’s peace and it’s quiet allow me to be.
I can not sleep but I can rest.
Right here, right now, here in this place.

One thought on “My Mind Wanders

  1. What a beautiful poem. I’ve often felt like my life has been a series of goodbyes, so that verse really spoke to me. Thank you for reminding me that when we’re unable to “sleep,”
    “rest” will do just fine.

    Like

Leave a Reply

